The government of Peru reported that it will request a visa for Mexican travelers who wish to visit the Andean country, in response to what they described as a “unilateral announcement” by the Mexican government to impose a temporary visa for Peruvian citizens who wish to visit the country.

In application of the Principle of Reciprocity, a fundamental rule in relations between sovereign States, Peru will adopt this measure as a counterpart, its Foreign Ministry indicated in a statement.

Photo: @alanxelmundo
Photo: @alanxelmundo

However, there are exceptions. Mexican citizens who have a Schengen, United Kingdom, Canada, United States, Australia and Japan visa, as well as those who have permanent residence in the aforementioned countries and in the members of the Pacific Alliance, will not require a visa to enter Peru. .

This decision by Peru comes after last Friday, the Ministry of the Interior (Segob) of Mexico, through the Official Gazette of the Federation (DOF), announced that those born in Peru who visit Mexico must apply for a temporary visa to enter the national territory.

It should be noted that Mexico will begin to require a visa from Peruvian citizens as of April 20, however, the date of application of the measure, nor the requirements for Mexican travelers, are not yet known.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *